top of page

21 Man Squad named for Sheffield clash

Ahead of our first competitive match of 2021 against Sheffield Eagles in Round One of the Betfred Challenge Cup, Knights head coach James Ford has named his first 21 Man Squad of the season, including the returning club captain Chris Clarkson.

The former Super League Grand Final winner was named captain in the off-season and will return to a preliminary squad after not being risked against Hull FC last week. Clarkson has commented on his pride at being named captain of the club and is set to lead a team full of Super League experience against fellow Betfred Championship club Sheffield.

The likes of Ryan Atkins, Ben Jones-Bishop and Danny Kirmond could make their first competitive appearances for the Knights, along with Australian half-back Brendan O’Hagan, a man who caught the eye in last week’s match against Hull FC.

Ford acknowledged following our pre-season encounter last week with Hull FC that he had some tough decisions to make, given the displays of the players against the Airlie Birds and the competition for places – competition which can only stand the team in good stead for 2021.

Experienced duo Tim Spears, who didn’t feature against Hull FC, and Adam Cuthbertson are both not included but are in full training and will be fighting for their shirts in the coming weeks.

Warrington Wolves loanee half-back Riley Dean isn’t available for selection due to the agreement of his deal not allowing him to feature in the Betfred Challenge Cup to avoid becoming cup-tied should he be recalled by his parent club.

21 Man Squad in full

1. Matty Marsh – Sancus Utilities 2. Jason Bass – Redmayne Bentley 3. Liam Salter – The Telford Family 4. Ryan Atkins – Marcia Inn Bishopthorpe 5. Kieran Dixon – Browns Plasterers 6. Brendan O’Hagan – Rite Price Tyres 8. Ronan Dixon – The White Family 9. Will Jubb – Clinical Technologies 10. Jack Teanby – Bootham Tavern Knights Social Club 11. Chris Clarkson (C) – GMB Union 12. Sam Scott – Cllr Mark Warters 14. Kriss Brining – Branches Out Tree Surgeons 15. Jordan Baldwinson – John Stabler (Textiles) LTD 16. Marcus Stock – All Design & Print 17. Danny Kirmond – East Yorkshire Shutters 19. James Green – PLB Projects LTD 21. Joe Porter – Nuffield Health York Hospital 22. Perry Whiteley – Naked Bean Roasters 23. Ben Jones-Bishop – Harrison Barnes in memory of Paul Barnes 28. Danny Washbrook – Humber Street Distillery Co. 30. Tyme Dow-Nikau – Haxby Sports Bar

Friday night’s match will kick off at 7:45pm and be shown LIVE and FREE on The Sportsman’s website, Youtube and Facebook pages.


Key Partners