top of page

Eight Valkyrie stars earn call-ups for Roses clash

Eight York Valkyrie players have earned call-ups for this month's War of the Roses fixture!

Lancashire and Yorkshire will face off at Dewsbury's FLAIR Stadium on Saturday 22nd June, ahead of England's clash with France in Toulouse on Saturday 29th June.

England Women Head Coach Stuart Barrow has named eight Valkyrie players across the two sides, with Eboni Partington and Tara Jane Stanley picked in the Lancashire set-up and Jas Bell, Liv Gale, Georgie Hetherington, Emma Kershaw, Jess Sharp and Liv Wood selected for the Yorkshire squad.

Barrow said: “Firstly, I must congratulate both Leeds Rhinos and St Helens for producing another brilliant Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup Final at Wembley Stadium last weekend.

"The record crowd and number of viewers watching at home is a testament to the high-quality Women’s rugby league on display that day.

“With the mid-season international on the horizon it’s time for us to continue that positive momentum and I’m looking forward to linking up with our Lancashire and Yorkshire based squads for our War of the Roses game next Saturday.

“The same fixture last Autumn was extremely competitive and was a good learning experience for both players and staff. Much like last year, the game will be an opportunity for each squad to test themselves against Super Leagues’ best with a place in France up for grabs – it should be a fantastic game.”

“When we announced our Senior and Knights squads at the beginning of the year it was always planned that we would give them this opportunity to train and play together at the mid-season point and we have another Origin game scheduled for the Autumn which will operate on a selection basis.”


Emily Baggaley (St Helens), Grace Banks (Wigan Warriors), Leah Burke (St Helens), Mary Coleman (Wigan Warriors), Jodie Cunningham (St Helens), Anna Davies, Eva Hunter, Molly Jones (both Wigan Warriors), Zoe Harris, Tara Jones, Katie Mottershead (all St Helens), Eboni Partington (York Valkyrie), Izzy Rowe (Wigan Warriors), Emily Rudge, Lucy Sams, Beri Salihi, Erin Stott, Georgia Sutherland (all St Helens), Tara Jane Stanley (York Valkyrie), Amy Taylor, Paige Travis (both St Helens), Megan Williams, Victoria Whitfield (both St Helens)


Amelia Brown (Huddersfield Giants), Caitlin Beevers (Leeds Rhinos), Chloe Billington (Featherstone Rovers), Jas Bell (York Valkyrie), Keara Bennett, Caitlin Casey, Ruby Enright, Grace Field (all Leeds Rhinos) Liv Gale (York Valkyrie), Amy Hardcastle (Leeds Rhinos), Georgie Hetherington (York Valkyrie), Phoebe Hook (St Helens), Shona Hoyle, Zoe Hornby (both Leeds Rhinos), Emma Kershaw (York Valkyrie), Lucy Murray, Izzy Northrop (both Leeds Rhinos), Jess Sharp (York Valkyrie), Bella Sykes (Leeds Rhinos), Dannielle Waters (Featherstone Rovers), Liv Whitehead (Leeds), Liv Wood (York Valkyrie)


Key Partners