top of page

Anfield voted as League Express' Coach of the Year

Lindsay Anfield has been voted as the Betfred Women’s Super League Coach of the Year in the 2023 League Express Readers’ Poll.

Anfield guided York Valkyrie to a maiden BWSL Grand Final title as well as to a second successive BWSL League Leaders’ Shield, as York became the first team in the competition’s history to retain the crown.

Having already been named as the BWSL Coach of the Year at October’s Rugby League Awards Evening, the Valkyrie Director of Rugby now has another personnel accolade, having received 47.4% of the vote, with Matty Smith (24.8%), Amanda Wilkinson (20.2%), Kieron Purtill (4.2%) and Marie Colley (3.3%) also shortlisted.

Meanwhile, Valkyrie star Sinead Peach narrowly missed out on the BWSL Player of the Year award, earning 28.3% of the vote compared to winner Emily Rudge’s 29%. Fellow York ace Tara Jane Stanley (22.6%) was also in the running alongside Shona Hoyle (10.2%) and Keara Bennett (9.8%).

York Valkyrie also finished second in the Club of the Year category (26.4%) as Betfred Challenge Cup winners Leigh Leopards (33.7%) took home the prize. Wigan Warriors (19.4%), Hull KR (10.6%) and London Broncos (9.9%) were also nominated.

Watch every York Valkyrie home league match with a 2024 York RLFC Season Ticket! For all information on 2024 Season Tickets, click HERE!


Key Partners