top of page

York RLFC shortlisted for numerous League Express awards

York RLFC have had numerous nominations in the 2023 League Express Readers' Poll, with voting now open!

York Valkyrie have been shortlisted for the Club of the Year, alongside Hull KR, Leigh Leopards, London Broncos and Wigan Warriors.

The Valkyrie became the first side in the Betfred Women's Super League to retain the League Leaders' Shield in 2023 before capturing their maiden BWSL Grand Final title.

Captain Sinead Peach and Vice-Captain Tara Jane Stanley were vital to York's success and both have been nominated for the BWSL Player of the Year, with Leeds Rhinos star Keara Bennett and St Helens pair Shona Hoyle and Emily Rudge also in the running.

Director of Rugby Lindsay Anfield, who guided the Valkyrie to multiple silverware in 2023, is among the five nominees for the BWSL Coach of the Year. Marie Colley (Featherstone Rovers), Kieron Purtill (Leigh Leopards), Matty Smith (St Helens) and Amanda Wilkinson (Barrow Raiders) are also shortlisted.

There is also representation for York Knights in the Readers' Poll after a mazy run of 10 wins from their last 11 league matches delivered a sixth-placed and Play-Offs finish in the Betfred Championship.

Head Coach Andrew Henderson is nominated for the Betfred Championship Coach of the Year alongside Mark Aston (Sheffield Eagles), Allan Coleman (Swinton Lions), Mike Eccles (London Broncos) and Lee Greenwood (Bradford Bulls).

The voting deadline is Thursday 30th November (6pm), with the results revealed in the League Express on Monday 4th December. To register your vote, click the link HERE.


Key Partners